U.S. Women’s Amateur stroke-play tee times, TV info and featured groups

Two final players were added to the U.S. Women’s Amateur field on Wednesday at the conclusion of the Ladies National Golf Association Amateur Championship. Mark down Marissa Wenzler and Kennedy Pedigo – co-runners-up at this week’s event – and the field is now complete.

The U.S. Golf Association reduced the championship field from 156 players to 132 players this year in light of the coronavirus. It’s a field based entirely on exemption categories, which is something totally new for the USGA and this championship.

Tee times and pairings for stroke-play qualifying at Woodmont Country Club in Rockville, Maryland, are listed below, but here are the five groups we’re most interested in:

Aneka Seumanutafa, Lauren Greenlief, Virunpat Olankitchunchai

Call these women the locals. Seumanutafa, an Ohio State junior, is the only Maryland resident in field, though Thailand’s Olankitkunchai, as a senior at the University of Maryland, has made it her adopted home state. Lauren Greenlief, the 2015 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur champion lives just 40 minutes away in Ashburn, Virginia.

Gabriela Ruffels, Rachel Kuehn, Brigitte Thibault

This trio should strike terror in the hearts of any other competitor who might happen to find herself on the opposite side of the eventual match-play bracket. All three are proven match-play competitors, with Ruffels the defending champion (also the winner of the 2019 North & South Women’s Amateur), Kuehn having just won the North & South Women’s Amateur and the LNGA Amateur and Thibault just days removed from the Women’s Western Amateur title.

Emilia Migliaccio, Lei Ye, Julia Potter-Bobb

This group owns some USGA hardward already. A clever pairing by the USGA here puts together Wake Forest’s Migliaccio, the top-ranked American in the World Amateur Golf Ranking at No. 4 (also the top-ranked player in this field), alongside Ye, the 2019 U.S. Girls’ Junior champion, and Potter-Bobb, who won the U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur in 2013 and 2016. Consider these women the top of each age group, junior to mid-amateur.

Gina Kim, Rose Zhang, Megha Ganne

Rising stars abound here. Gina Kim will be a junior at Duke, but had a big early summer in 2019 by helping Duke to the NCAA title then earning low-amateur honors with a T-12 at the U.S. Women’s Open just a few weeks later. Ganne returns from a semifinal run at the 2019 U.S. Women’s Amateur and Zhang played her way to the quarterfinals of the 2019 U.S. Junior. The latter players are headed to Stanford in 2022 and 2021, respectively.

Meghan Stasi, Kaitlyn Papp, Erica Shepherd

These three need no introduction considering all have won USGA championships. Staci, a four-time U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur champion, is playing the Women’s Am for the 14th time this week. Papp teamed with Hailee Cooper to win the 2016 U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball and Shepherd is a two-time winner: at the 2017 U.S. Girls’ Junior and with Megan Furtney at the 2019 U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball.

Tee times and pairings

Monday (Aug. 3), No. 1 / Tuesday (Aug. 4), No. 1
All times Eastern

7 a.m. / 11 a.m. – Aneka Seumanutafa, Lauren Greenlief, Virunpat Olankitkunchai

7:10 a.m. / 11:10 a.m. – Hanna Alberto, Ela Anacona, Jackie Rogowicz

7:21 a.m. / 11:21 a.m. – Ashley Kim, Chanikan Yongyuan, Addie Baggarly

7:31 a.m. / 11:31 a.m. – Caroline Canales, Raquel Olmos Ros, Riley Smyth

7:42 a.m. / 11:42 a.m. – Gabriela Ruffels, Rachel Kuehn, Brigitte Thibault

7:52 a.m. / 11:52 a.m. – Ami Gianchandani, Valery Plata, Anika Varma

8:03 a.m. / 12:03 p.m. – Catherine Park, Louise Yu, Brianna Navarrosa

8:13 a.m. / 12:13 p.m. – Nicole Whiston, Maria Fernanda Escauriza, Allysha Mae Mateo

8:24 a.m. / 12:24 p.m. – Emilia Migliaccio, Lei Ye, Julia Potter-Bobb

8:34 a.m. / 12:34 p.m. – Micheala Williams, Brooke Riley, Celeste Dao

8:45 a.m. / 12:45 p.m. – Therese Warner, Natasha Andrea Oon, Julia Johnson

8:55 a.m. / 12:55 p.m. – Kelsey Chugg, Katherine Smith, Renate Grimstad

9:05 a.m. / 1:05 p.m. – Rose Zhang, Gina Kim, Megha Ganne

9:16 a.m. / 1:16 p.m. – Isabella Fierro, Clara Manzalini, Paris Hilinski

9:26 a.m. / 1:26 p.m. – Giovanna Fernandez, Jacqueline Putrino, Lauren Cox

9:37 a.m. / 1:37 p.m. – Sera Tadokoro, Kelly Xu, Pilar Echeverria

9:47 a.m. / 1:47 p.m. – Meghan Stasi, Kaitlyn Papp, Erica Shepherd

9:58 a.m. / 1:58 p.m. – Ellie Slama, Valeria Mendizabal, Kirsty Hodgkins

10:08 a.m. / 2:08 p.m. – Kenzie Wright, Haylin Harris, Jasmine Ly

10:19 a.m. / 2:19 p.m. – Mychael O’Berry, Ivy Shepherd, Malia Nam, Kailua

10:29 a.m. / 2:29 p.m. – Grace Summerhays, Amari Avery, Sofia Garcia

10:40 a.m. / 2:40 p.m. – Anna Morgan, Lauren Hartlage, Kelly Sim

11 a.m. / 7 a.m. – Megan Furtney, Lauren Beaudreau, Brynn Walker

11:10 a.m. / 7:10 a.m. – Lois Kaye Go, Jackie Lucena, Morgan Baxendale

11:21 a.m. / 7:21 a.m. – Teresa Toscano Borrero, Julia Gregg, Sophia Bae

11:31 a.m. / 7:31 a.m. – Julia Becker, Libby Winans, Karen Fredgaard

11:42 a.m. / 7:42 a.m. – Maria Bohorquez, Zoe Antoinette Campos, Cecilie Finne-Ipsen

11:52 a.m. / 7:52 a.m. – Jillian Bourdage, Allisen Corpuz, Alexa Pano

12:03 p.m. / 8:03 a.m. – Hailey Borja, Shannon Johnson, Jensen Castle

12:13 p.m. / 8:13 a.m. – Marissa Kirkwood, Christine Wang, Amanda Sambach

12:24 p.m. / 8:24 a.m. – Emily Hawkins, Marta Perez Sanmartin, Vanessa Knecht

12:34 p.m. / 8:34 a.m. – Phoebe Brinker, Kaitlin Milligan, Mika Jin

12:45 p.m. / 8:45 a.m. – Siyun Liu, Bohyun Park, Marissa Wenzler

12:55 p.m. / 8:55 a.m. – Briana Chacon, Pimnipa Panthong, Bentley Cotton

1:05 p.m. / 9:05 a.m. – Reagan Zibilski, Kajal Mistry, Kennedy Pedigo

1:16 p.m. / 9:16 a.m. – Ashley Gilliam, Cory Lopez, Megan Schofill

1:26 p.m. / 9:26 a.m. – Sadie Englemann, Siarra Stout, Auston Kim

1:37 p.m. / 9:37 a.m. – Rachel Heck, Emily Mahar, Kennedy Swann

1:47 p.m. / 9:47 a.m. – Brooke Seay, Tyler Akabane, Alyaa Abdulghany

1:58 p.m. / 9:58 a.m. – Katherine Zhu, Katie Chipman, Michaela Morard

2:08 p.m. / 10:08 a.m. – Ellen Port, Angela (Yilin) Liu, Talia Campbell

2:19 p.m. / 10:19 a.m. – Yurika Tanida, Courtney Dow, Aline Krauter

2:29 p.m. / 10:29 a.m. – Kaleigh Telfer, Hailee Cooper, Siripatsorn Patchana

2:40 p.m. / 10:40 a.m. – Gurleen Kaur, Anne Chen, Brooke Matthews

How to Watch

Wednesday, Aug. 5

Round of 64 matches: 4-7 p.m., Golf Channel

Thursday, Aug. 6

Round of 16 matches: 4-7 p.m., Golf Channel

Friday Aug. 7

Quarterfinal matches: 1-4 p.m., Golf Channel

Saturday, Aug. 8

Semifinal matches: 11 a.m.-2 p.m., Golf Channel

Sunday, Aug. 9

Championship match (afternoon 18): 1-4 p.m., Golf Channel

Comments are closed.