Sahith Theegala adds another line to resume as Jack Nicklaus Award winner

Sahith Theegala teed it up in the last two PGA Tour events as a professional. The Pepperdine player continues to rack up college golf awards, though, and on Wednesday was named the Jack Nicklaus Award winner.

Theegala already was named the Ben Hogan Award winner and Haskins Award winner earlier this spring after a shortened senior season during which he won a pair of tournaments and also posted four top-10 finishes. He finished the year as the No. 1 player in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings.

Theegala becomes just the fifth player to earn all three awards in the same year.

The Nicklaus Award recognizes the top players at the Division I, II, III, NAIA, and NJCAA levels.

At the Division II level, Delta State’s Zach Zediker was named the award recipient. Zediker claimed four victories during his senior campaign after opening the season with a runner-up finish at the Cougar Invitational. Zediker becomes the first Delta State player in program history to win the Nicklaus Award.

Rob Wuethrich of Illinois Wesleyan was the Division III winner. Wuethrich posted a scoring average of 70.2 and finished the year ranked No. 1 in the final Golfstat NCAA Division III rankings. He won four times this season and did not finish outside the top six.

Dalton State’s Ben Rebne, the NAIA winner, won four individual titles, posted five top-5 finishes, and never finished outside the top-10 in all six events. Rebne becomes the fourth Dalton State player to win the Jack Nicklaus Award in the last six years.

Finally, NJCAA winner Jon Hopkins of Mississippi Gulf Coast recorded three wins during the 2019-20 campaign and is headed to Florida Gulf Coast next season to continue his college career.

Comments are closed.